Kulturkompasset | critics of culture events

KŠIŠTOF MARKEVIČ piano recital in Vilnius




VILNIUS:  For the performer, a recital always feels like going to confession with the listener, sharing one’s experience of a piece of music. One after another, the pieces spill forth like letters that seem to come to life at the touch of the keyboard. Pianist Kšištof Markevič will be the one “writing” them in this concert.
A student of the Lithuanian Academy of Music, laureate of the Queen Morta prize and various other competitions, he shall present a broad musical panorama – from the majestic music of J. S. Bach to the unbridled symbolism of A. Scriabin.

Reviev by Henning Høholt

The young Lithuanian pianist KŠIŠTOF MARKEVIČ  (born 1989) played his recital August 4th 2012 during the Christopher Summer Festival 2012. The concert was great. Good flooding. Some times very virtuose, as f.ex.  in the Piano sonata No. 5 by Alexander SCRIABIN, and wonderful some times with very big power at the same time in Fantasy-Sonata “After a Reading of Dante”by Franz Liszt, whch ended the concert.

His opening Partita  no 1 by J.S. Bach was well formed. He did a good  job, it was very representative for him. He can be proud of it.

Practically. For the pianist and for the audience. He should have had a break between Scriabin and Chopin, as some of the works he has in the programme are demanding for bith the pianist and for the audience, then the feeling of the programme would have been even better. He could have been planned a short encore. Furthermore I would have appreciated that if there could have been a break, one more Chopin number together with the beautiful Nocturne in Es in the opening of the second part, Then the programme would have been even better.




Johann Sebastian BACH (1685-1750)
Partita No.1 in B flat Major, BWV 825

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART (1756-1791)
Piano Sonata No

. 10 in C Major K. 330

Balys DVARIONAS (1904-1972)
“Snow-covered forest” from the “Winter Sketches” cycle

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN (1770-1827)
Bagatelles Op. 33

Alexander SCRIABIN (1872-1915)
Piano sonata No. 5, Op. 53

Frédéric CHOPIN (1810-1849)
Nocturne in E-flat major, Op. 9, No. 2

Franz LISZT (1811-1886)
Fantasy-Sonata “After a Reading of Dante” from the “Years Spent Wandering” cycle


The Christopher Summer Festival is the largest and one of the most impressive summer music festivals in Lithuania, and runs for two months (July to August). During this time, over 50 original concert events are presented to the public, taking place in different spaces in Vilnius and other Lithuanian districts.

This festival does not easily fit into any stylistic frame – its motto being „all genres are good, except the boring ones”. So, alongside classical music masterpieces there is jazz, world music, experimental projects, and traditional organ, guitar and piano music cycles

Tagged as: , , , , , , , ,